SeaPort Manatee’s Executive Director, Carlos Buqueras, was elected chair of the Florida Ports Council for fiscal years 2023 – 2025

TALLAHASSEE, Fla (August 8, 2023) – The Florida Ports Council Board of Directors has elected its slate of officers for fiscal years 2023-2025.

  • Carlos Buqueras, SeaPort Manatee Executive Director, was elected Chair,
  • Hydi Webb, PortMiami Port Director and CEO, was elected Vice Chair, and
  • David Wirth, Enterprise Facilities Planning Manager at Port St. Pete, was reelected to serve as Secretary/Treasurer.

With three decades of distinguished Florida port leadership, Buqueras is globally renowned for his visionary achievements in all facets of seaport business development and operations, including containerized, bulk and breakbulk cargos, as well as cruise and ferry industry prominence. Buqueras took the helm at Manatee County’s seaport in 2012, following 22 years as director of business development at Port Everglades, in South Florida’s Broward County.

“I’m truly honored that my fellow port directors have placed their confidence in me to serve for the next two years as chairman of the Florida Ports Council at a time when international trade is enjoying significant growth throughout Florida,” said Carlos Buqueras, executive director of SeaPort Manatee. “As the populations of Florida and the entire U.S. Southeast continue to swell, it is increasingly essential that seaport infrastructure expand to efficiently meet demands for consumer goods and other vital cargos. I look forward to working with my fellow port directors in ensuring we collectively thrive as gateways for burgeoning commerce.”

Maritime industry expert Hydi Webb will use her nearly 30 years of experience in cruise and cargo business development in serving as the FPC’s Vice Chair. As Port Director at Port Miami, Webb oversees the growth and development of one of the world’s leading cruise ports and one of America’s fastest-growing container ports.

David Wirth, Enterprise Facilities Planning Manager at Port St. Pete, will continue in his position as Secretary/Treasurer for the FPC Board of Directors.

“Florida’s seaports are seeing record cargo activity and showing the world that our reliable and resilient ports are ready for more. As Florida looks to seize even more cargo and cruise market share, Carlos Buqueras, Hydi Webb and David Wirth are the right leaders to help advance this strong economic engine,” said Mike Rubin, President and CEO, Florida Ports Council.


The Florida Ports Council (FPC), is a Florida nonprofit corporation that serves as the professional association for Florida’s fifteen public seaports and their management. FPC is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of the 16 port directors with staff support located in Tallahassee. We provide leadership through a collective voice in the areas of state and federal advocacy, data and research, and marketing and communication.

Media Contact Florida Ports Council:
Edie Ousley

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply